iBeastie

Life Blog and More…

Life Blog – Living This Life

4 Comments


Recently on our sister site picturebeast.wordpress.com which hosts “The Antics of Worth and Gates” I talked about the fight you face when confronting the Big C. 

“With any test victory or defeat is determined by establishing the criteria that frames the battle. So if the battle is for the life of Worth then ultimately, Worth and Gates will lose that battle. If the battle is to destroy the love of Worth and Gates, then clearly there is a different team victorious. Such contemplation is the stuff that helps Worth defeat melancholia. He loves being a winner”.

Tonight I came home from work a little early feeling tired and achy. Mrs P had spent 2 hours sanding down the front door making it ready for painting. Peanut considered that the prepping was complete. I however did not and using all the strengths of my unique northern charm I told her so. In minutes we were shouting at each other. There were tears. It was not the me coming home and falling into the arms of the one I love scenario that is what this house is all about.

I might have had a fair point, I might not – that is not what matters. I thought back to the words I had written just the week before. This is how the Big C can destroy. It brings pain. With that comes irritation and then things get said in a less than tactful way. From nowhere that which you hold most precious to you – the love you have for each other – gets challenged and undermined. Luckily in this house we talked, then talked some more and we emerged from this gloom stronger and more determined to guard and cherish that which we hold dear. 

A friend Wendy messaged us telling us to watch a Tv programme called Great Canal Journeys with Prunella Scales and Timothy West. Tonight’s episode was Venice a city dear to our hearts and one we hoped to revisit in three weeks time. Prunella Scales has Alzheimer’s  and Timothy has written poignantly about watching her slip away from him. 

Now in their troisième âge they are doing this delightful canal series. Tonight they bumbled around all the places we have explored in Venice and it made for delightful, touching, interesting and entertaining television.

Their tenderness to each other in their troisième âge was the perfect counterpoint to the anger expressed earlier in our house. We naturally drew closer to each other on the sofa and yes, I did feel sad because this was supposed to be the life we shared in our old age – bumbling about as old explorers, lovers and best friends and we will be denied that. But the programme was too beautiful to allow such a sentiment to spoil it and we both loved watching it.

This is life. Real. “Your perfect imperfections” is a quote from Peanut’s favourite song because she says that she knows that is how I feel about her and she is dead right.

Love, as it should, triumphs in this household and tonight I will get Biggles read to me at bedtime.

Author: ibeastie

Interested in Photography, Watches, Style and Cars

4 thoughts on “Life Blog – Living This Life

  1. This post rings so very true. It saddens me to read this, but you write the truth and I totally get it. We both have good partners in the fight, Adrian, and must fight the good fight. And love dear little Bertie.

  2. Though I don’t know loisajay, I admire you thanks to your comments on Addy’s journal/blog…whatever one might call it. I think it should be referred to as a real life view of life…but probably something much more poetic.

    Beautifully written Addy, Adrian, iBeastie. We all experience these moments but we all don’t experience them with the same realization of the moment. Most of us go along not thinking about the tenuous nature of our lives… Your sharing your life’s events are very worthwhile…for you, as well as for your readers…even those of us who only “know” you through shared interests which, initially, brought us together.

    Please take a picture of that newly painted front door when it’s ready!

  3. Thanks BB comments such as yours and Loisajay’s are much appreciated. Writing things down helps me work things out in my mind but your comments tell me I am right to share my thoughts.

    Picture will be done as soon as door is finished!

Leave a Reply

