iBeastie

Life Blog and More…

Life Blog – The Second Chemo Treatment

Leave a comment

IMG_3706

The Second chemotherapy treatment underway then and all pretty routine stuff. Tingling fingers, when I touch anything cold, a loss of taste, a dry mouth, hiccups every afternoon / early evening for three days and just generally a bit tired. But that’s it no drama, just a day off work and then back to work again, business as normal. Job done.

The first treatment saw The Elf and Fandango keep us company but this time it was just the two of us, so lots of reading and iPad research. Mrs P is keeping busy doing all sorts of research for our war campaign and plotting alternative strategies. It’s keeping her busy and she is finding avenues to pursue. All good fun.

On the way home we called into a carpet shop, to sort out a new floor for our hall and while I was in there, I got a call from St Richard’s Hospice as my doctor had referred me to them. Now that was a bit sobering and I admit it knocked the wind out of our sails a fair bit I can tell you. However, the lady on the phone was great and stressed they are not all about death and dying but offer all kinds of practical help both for me and those around me, so  having got over the shock of the call, we decided it was a welcome call, which was later followed up by an introductory letter. Meanwhile let’s see how this treatment gets on, it might well make a longer fight of it and if Peanut has anything to do with it it definitely will.

But how are we coping? I have the Big C, and they cannot cure it. How long I have depends on how the chemo / treatment works so yes it lurks about in the mind. But you know, we are dying from the minute we are born, so what does no cure really mean? You see death can’t be cured it comes to us all, so health treatment isn’t about a cure it is about prolonging life, so let’s just crash on, and have a bit of Chem and a touch of Avastin and a dabble of whatever else gets offered and we will keep soldiering on prolonging. But right now, so you know, I look and feel as good as the next guy – kind of odd really. So I’m doing Ok really, pragmatic, realistic but still going forward, still looking forward to my next adventure, my next watch, my next camera related purchase, my next kiss.

Mrs P is doing ok too. Yep she has tears, yes she has a sense of despair, but she has jobs to do, missions to complete, research to undertake and it is a full time job being the wife of the Beastmaster, so this helps fill her head with better things. It is hard for her though, but she shares my dreams and always has that kiss for me and right now she remains busy as always working hard to make our dreams still come true.

Work for me is great – it is a slice of watered down normality as they give me all the support I need, yet  give me a framework of stability, surrounded by a great team. Our local camera club is proving good too, and the meets are very inspiring and make us want to shoot more pictures. Our newly decorated  living room is a simple pleasure too,  while on the social front things are good too, with a lovely meal out with friends at Ask in Great Malvern last night, other friends coming round for lunch on Sunday, Mum here next weekend for a weekend stay and a wedding to go to in February. So my friend Chemo, behave yourself as we have a lot of fun coming up.

Anyway, take care, show the ones you love, how much you love them  and don’t forget St Valentines is only around the corner! 🙂

Author: ibeastie

Interested in Photography, Watches, Style and Cars

Leave a Reply

