iBeastie

Life Blog and More…

Life Blog – The Big C False Alarm

Leave a comment

Life at Beastie Folly has in truth been rather spiffing of late. It has been a rollercoaster ride of fun and frivolity since last May and my clear scan 6 months after my second liver resection was just a passport to Fun City.

Of course we know that things could change quickly and that every six months there will be another scan and each time there will be worry  but that is the way of things so we just get on with it. This week though the Big C sent us a reminder, a tester if you like, to see what we are made of…

Last week Mrs P had a breast scan on Thursday and on Tuesday of this week she received a letter asking her to go for a second scan to Bromsgrove Hospital on Thursday (yesterday). The letter suggested she bring a relative or friend and said the results would be confirmed on the day.  Such a letter is very scary for any woman and brave Mrs P is no exception. Yes she was sure it would be fine and nothing would be found but… but…

Mrs P is brave make no mistake and bless her when she got the letter, which she received when she was at home alone, she said she was more worried about telling me as she knew I would be upset! Well I was, but I hid it and in the absence of any road traffic cameramen whom I could abuse, I just had a quick internal rant about the injustices in this world etc etc.

Anyway, Thursday morning came quickly enough and the hospital was brilliant. Peanut was seen very quickly, scanned and given the all clear in record time. It was a false alarm caused by her last scan 5 years ago being on film and this scan being digital. Our world was put back together again, and that evening we celebrated with a modest Thai meal in Upton and I reflected upon just how lucky I am to have a Mrs P in my life!

I  apologise for laying it all on a bit but Mrs P is truly special. While P was in being scanned I was in the waiting room, playing with my iPhone and  gradually getting a banging headache,  as I waited for news. As soon as Mrs P got the all clear her first thought was for me and she popped her head around the curtain gave me a big smile and  the thumbs up sign and said it was all ok. Better than christmas I can tell you!

So a calling card from the Big C, but more importantly, a reminder for me about just how lucky I am to have a very precious Lady P sharing her life adventures with me!

Author: ibeastie

Interested in Photography, Watches, Style and Cars

Leave a Reply

