iBeastie

Life Blog and More…

Life Blog – A Holiday in The Cote d’Azur

Leave a comment

The 1st May saw us set off to the South of France for a holiday and to attend the MINI United Festival at the Paul Ricard Circuit at Le Castellet.  Click on the picture above to view a set of iPhone photographs taken during the holiday and take a look here to find out more about the MINI United Festival. The holiday has helped my recovery from liver surgery on the 26th March enormously and upon our return from the break on Tuesday I was immediately able to return to work on the Wednesday just gone.

The journey down we did at a leisurely pace as I was still suffering with every bump in the road. Tuesday then was a simple drive to Peanut’s Mum’s for an overnight stop prior to catching an early Tunnel crossing to France the next day. I love the Tunnel, it is so slick and easy – if you are early catch an earlier train, if you are late catch a later one. It is not that easy with a ferry crossing and you lose so much time. Wednesday, then was an easy drive to Beaune a lovely town about halfway between Calais and Port Cogolin in the south. The trip is motorway all the way and the road surfaces are lovely and smooth so no bouncy tummy syndrome – bliss. We had a simple Pizza/Pasta combo meal in Beaune coupled with my first (and modest) glass of wine, since the operation. Yep we were on holiday! :)

At this stage in the holiday Peanut was still giving me a lift in the morning to pull myself out of bed and I was getting a tad worried that I would not improve any over this holiday. Nonetheless once up there was no stopping us and Thursday saw us reach our flat in Port Cogolin where we were pleased to see that they had  almost finished painting the whole resort and it looked fabulous. We are very organised and Peanut quickly unpacked our cases and gave the flat a quick once over and an hour later we were settled in. This despite Peanut being supervised by me – well done that girl!

Apart from our weekend at MINI United, the holiday was a very lazy affair for us, but each day I did more walking and exploring and very quickly got so much stronger and Peanut balanced the walks with lazy afternoons on the beach. Clicking on the picture below will reveal a second smaller slideshow of pictures from our trip.

By the end of the holiday I had improved no end and with this trip our lives felt very normal again. Peanut’s smile grew daily and the worry lines she had carried, fretting over me fell away. The sunshine warmed her skin and like a spring flower she blossomed before my eyes. And if at this point reading this you are sticking your fingers in your throat at this mushy nonsense, trust me that is fine, because truly I hope you never  have to see such a beautiful transformation as a weight is lifted off a person’s shoulders! :)

By the end of the trip we were so confident of how well we felt that we were able to drive back home in one hit, which in truth is the way we prefer to do the drive. We left Port Cogolin at 9 in the evening on Monday and were back home in Malvern the next day at 2.30 in the afternoon. Wednesday saw me start back to work doing short hours 10 till 3 and the sense of normality was truly complete!

So here I am on Friday afternoon, home from work and just like every one else I’m saying “Thank God it’s Friday!” But you know what I can’t tell you how good it feels to be able to say that and to have the weekend demarcated by work! :)

Take care and have a great weekend – I know I will! :D

Author: ibeastie

Interested in Photography, Watches, Style and Cars

Leave a Reply

