iBeastie

Life Blog and More…

Life Blog – All Good With Consultant

Leave a comment

Today is 5 weeks (35 days) since my second liver operation. After the first liver rescetion, I went back to work after 36 days which would be tomorrow. Well it frustrates me to say that there is no way that I could go back to work tomorrow this time around. Don’t get me wrong I am definitely on the mend and healing nicely but it is more up and down this time round. On Saturday I was very active , felt great and even saw  a load of old mates at a MINI pub meet, which was brilliant, yet on Sunday I had a lousy headache all day, felt sick most of the day  and had a tummy that was very tender. This morning, it looks like being a good day!

Anyway, Friday was a busy day. First we took Ola to the vets for her annual check up. She was fine but had lost a bit of weight since her last visit, so we had her wormed and will try and plump her up a bit with some tempting food. The pair of us are big softies though and the drive to the vet’s, listening to her crying in her box in the car, was frankly just heartbreaking. At the vet’s though she was a good girl and seemed to understand that no-one was going to hurt her so she was better on the drive home. We truly are a nation of animal lovers and how anyone could hurt an animal is beyond me.

Lunchtime saw us leave for a consultation with my liver gurru at the Queen Elizabeth hospital at 2 pm. This went like clockwork and we were being seen dead on 2. Everything was fine.  The cancer was about 3cm in size – scary considering it wasn’t even visible on a scan 6 months before the operation! They had got it all out with very good margins and it was not near any blood vessels which is also good. No chemotherapy is needed, they will see me in 3 months time and scan me 6 months from date of the operation so the end of September. I am off to the south of France for a holiday and to complete my post op recovery and then return to work on the 16th May and hopefully just a normal life for a wee while.

After the consultation we headed for my Mum’s in Chester, the thinking being that we were well on the way already being in Birmingham. Boy was that a toughie! 6pm we landed at my Mum’s. Mum wont mind me saying she is 80 but her husband Anthony is 87 and he is not well at all just now. He was taken into hospital himself on Wednesday, very tired and worn out, so they are doing tests to find out what the problem is. We hope he perks up and gets back home soon.  Our visit then came at the right time for Mum who appreciated our company and the good news from my consultation. We enjoyed a meal out on Friday night at her local The Running Hare ( Mum’s local – that notion makes me smile – Mum the boozer, as if!) and Saturday morning we all enjoyed a cooked breakfast.

1pm saw us heading back to Malvern via a visit to the Asda and this time Thank God we had a good traffic jam free run and got home to Ola  and Alfie at 4pm. 7pm saw us at Fromebridge Mill just off Junction 13 of the M5 for a NewMINISeverns pub meet. This is our favourite MINI club and it was a brilliant evening with a great turnout of old hands and new club members. It was great for us to catch up again with some old friends who had come to our wedding – Tony and Marilyn, Aston and Matt and Becca as well as Debs and Nibby and Scooby Doo and everyone else whose head is just filled with all things MINI.

That then was a really busy couple of days and I felt great all through it, so why come Sunday did I feel so washed out? Not to worry every day heads in the right direction and it helps getting excited about our holiday in the South of France and the MINI United festival that we are going to while we are there! Bring it on!

Keep smiling and stay tuned so I can brag about my holidays with a few photos here and there!:)

 

Author: ibeastie

Interested in Photography, Watches, Style and Cars

Leave a Reply

